School of IsiZulu

Welcome to the School of IsiZulu


The School of IsiZulu Studies has 18 staff members, 6 Professors, 2 Senior lecturers, 7 Lecturers, 1 Junior Lecturer and two administrators. Six (6) of these members are based on the Pietermaritzburg campus; two on the Westville Campus and the rest are on the Howard College Campus. 

IsiZulu refers to the Zulu language, and these words are used interchangeably.  An "isiZulu student" is a student who is studying the Zulu language, irrespective of his or her socio-cultural background whilst IsiZulu modules are modules on Zulu language or literature. A "Zulu student", on the other hand, is a black South African mother-tongue member of the Zulu nation who may be studying any course in the University.

IsiZulu Studies is acceptable as some of our modules go further than language and literature and discuss Zulu religion, history, material culture, and so on.
IsiZulu is the best option for a student who enters the University of KwaZulu-Natal because, as the University of KwaZulu-Natal is implementing a bilingual language policy, IsiZulu is one of the languages of the University that will soon become the language of teaching and learning.


No Data to return.
Latest News
Latest Events

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved